Professor Heather Payne

Professor Heather Payne

MBBS, FRCP, FRCR

Oncology

36 years of experience

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
5
Explanation
5

Top feedback

“I’ve been a patient of Professor Payne for over 8 years she is and always has been 5 + stars in all that she does“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I’ve been a patient of Professor Payne for over 8 years she is and always has been 5 + stars in all that she does

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
26-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Heather Payne If you are seeking the advice or treatment options for Prostate Cancer, or associated problems, please look no further than Professor Heather Payne. My first consultation followed previous unsuccessful treatments at a very worrying time when Prof. patiently explained how the disease had progressed and the current treatment options of either Radiotherapy or Radical Prostatectomy (RP) With her help I decided on RP and was handed over to a specialist surgeon, against her financial interests - not always commonplace in today's private medicine. Following the surgery, being left with some residual cancer spread, I was referred back to Prof. who diligently investigated and watched over the disease for a year or so before recommending a course of Radiotherapy which she specified brilliantly with the result of me now effectively being cancer free. Prof. Heather always conducted herself in a professional, caring and specialist manner, is certainly expert in the prostate cancer field and is backed up by an equally excellent team to the extent that when she was away on international duties any concerns of mine were relayed to Prof. and she would call me if appropriate. At 77 years of age I have met with more than my fair share of medical practitioners and my experience with Prof. must rank the most beneficial and helpful. It continues to be a pleasure to deal with a true medical professional who puts the patient's need first. My thanks to Professor Heather Payne.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
24-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Payne has been my lifeline over the last 10 years plus, ever since I was referred to her after my PSA levels started to rise again following my initial prostatectomy. Since then she has treated me through a considerable number of recurrent outbreaks of my prostate cancer, always keeping on top of it and treating it proactively with the latest and most suitable treatments. She has genuine concern and sympathy as well as expertise and I couldn't recommend both her and the whole team at the Prostate Centre more highly .

Patient seen for:
Clinical Oncology
Prostate Cancer
23-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I started seeing Professor Payne after having been diagnosed with Advanced Prostate Cancer. Throughout the treatment, she provided not only excellent medical advice, but, just as importantly, support and reassurance in copying with my disease. Her clinical knowledge and clear and open manner give me unlimited trust in her judgement and advice. Five years on, I am able to live my live fully, and feel so very grateful and lucky to have her as my oncologist.

Patient seen for:
Chemotherapy
Intensity modulated radiotherapy (IMRT)
Prostate Cancer
17-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been seeing Professor Payne for in excess of 5 years. I have been really impressed with the professionalism and it is an immensely comforting to feel that you are receiving the highest level of expertise and care from a someone who is clearly at the top of her profession. Professor Payne always has the time and patience to to explain matters carefully and clearly and is very thoughtful in how she sets the scene a. She is a very good communicator which is really important in my view. Finally, we have had some good fun along the way which always helps in these situations. I have no hesitation in highly recommending Professor Payne.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
16-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Payne for the 2 years that i have been under her care has been inspirational to me i arrived with a PSA reading of 253 , she said that i should deal with this disease on a step by step basis and not to self diagnose , ignore the internet and if i had a question please talk with her This proved very good advice , our visits generally had some smiles and a few tears but i always walked out of my appointments feeling stronger than when i walked in i found she delivered news updates extremely clearly & concisely i have the highest of regards for Heather and would recommend her to anyone seeking professional advice

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
Chemotherapy
16-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Payne is excellent. She explains all the options very clearly and her bedside manner is incredibly warm and kind. She is a doctor that inspires trust and confidence that you are in good care.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
12-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been a patient of Professor Payne's for the past four and a half years and have always found her to be very caring, attentive and inspiring confidence. She explains everything very clearly and if she says something will be done it is, such as referrals to other consultants and communications with my GP etc. She is very aware of whole person medicine.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
12-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My first meeting with Professor Payne was on the telephone. Nevertheless, within a very short time, I felt I had known her for ages! She was extremely easy to talk to, had a sense of humour and was very clear with her advice. Jonathan Carey

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
11-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Payne was a breath of fresh air in a not very good week. Her explanations were clear, comprehensive and helpful, with a hint of humour in appropriate places.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
advice on available treatments
30-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I owe my life to Professor Payne . When it was too late to operate , she took me under her wing, quickly , professionally and with great personal skill and understanding sorted out my Prostrate problems. Now 15 years later all is still well and she still keeps an eye on my blood tests ., much appreciated. A true professional Peter Pitcher

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
29-10-2020