Mr Nicholas Ferran

Mr Nicholas Ferran

MBBS MSc. (Orth. Eng.) FRCS (Tr. & Orth.)

Orthopaedic Surgery

Recommended by  
9 specialists

17 years of experience
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.92
Bedside Manner
4.91
Explanation
4.92

Top feedback

“1st Class all round - from the 1st call to Mr Ferran's secretary (she was very friendly and efficient), to my actual treatment by Mr Ferran, I felt listened to, not rushed, my concerns were addressed thoroughly and I never felt patronised. As part of the medical profession myself, I was delighted that my experience as a patient reflected the way things should be - the very best - much appreciated.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Great experience with Mr Ferran because he is good at communicating information and explanations clearly, being careful I understood exactly what was happening and next steps.

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
04-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

1st Class all round - from the 1st call to Mr Ferran's secretary (she was very friendly and efficient), to my actual treatment by Mr Ferran, I felt listened to, not rushed, my concerns were addressed thoroughly and I never felt patronised. As part of the medical profession myself, I was delighted that my experience as a patient reflected the way things should be - the very best - much appreciated.

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
Shoulder Pain
21-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very satisfied

Patient seen for:
Painful Shoulder
Arthritis (Shoulder)
21-10-2020
Overall
1
Explanation
2
Bedside Manner
3

The 'Consultation' consisted of less than 3 minutes of me moving my arm around, I would have expected a more considered and robust examination. Especially considering the prices charged. I was in and out within 10-15minutes, with Zero clarity on why I am in pain and a referral to an expensive MRI scan. Would not recommend.

Mr Nicholas Ferran

Firstly thank you for your feedback we take all feedback seriously. We aim to provide 5 start treatment and apologise if on this occasion we fell short in your estimation. We are very sorry you were unhappy with your consultation. We take a history of the problems patients are experiencing and tailor clinical examination to the problem at hand and the amount of pain that is being experienced. Some conditions do need scans to better diagnose the problem and guide treatment and we offer patients a range of locations to have their scans according to their budget. After your consultation we provide letters to you and your GP explaining the consultation and all of this admin is covered by your consultation cost. Do get in touch and we would be happy to discuss this further as your care and treatment is important to us.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Pain
Shoulder Instability
19-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and sorted out the health problem quickly.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Pain
17-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Ferran, you exceeded my expectations. I was discharged, my doubts and questions were answered and clarified. To think that my first appointment could barely move my arm and the pain was abnormal. Dr Ferran is extremely professional and I recommend.

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
16-10-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Professional and to the point

Patient seen for:
Fracture (broken bone)
Sports Injuries
Orthopaedic Surgery
16-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent.

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
23-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Ferran is always clear and helpful and what I like most is that he is a no-nonsense professional, going straight to the point with gentle bedside manners

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
23-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After putting off having my shoulders looked at, within the space of one week I had a video consultant with Mr Ferran, MRI of both shoulders, a follow up in-person consultation and commenced physiotherapy and strength and conditioning training. A remarkably quick and efficient process.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Pain
23-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very good experience thus far.

Patient seen for:
calcific tendonitis
20-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very pleased with the experience so far

Patient seen for:
Shoulder & Elbow Surgery
27-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Ferran clearly explained my options for next steps for treating frozen shoulder. He answered all my questions and addressed all my concerns regarding possible surgery. He is very professional and all his answers are backs up by evidence and years of experience specialising in shoulder ( and elbow ) problems. I came away feeling reassured with my treatment options.

Patient seen for:
Orthopaedic Surgery
Frozen Shoulder
25-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Outstanding. Very pleased with the whole treatment for my left shoulder.

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
07-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

No problems whatsoever

06-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Initial video consultation only. Easy to follow what he wanted to check and next stages and reasons explained clearly.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Pain
27-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was greatly impressed my Nick Ferran's overall professionalism. He was attentive and articulate and gave me reassurance on my problem.

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
24-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very happy with the consultation

23-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

An excellent doctor. He took the time to property explain his opinion and my options and gave me a clear, logical plan. Highly recommend Mr. Ferran

Patient seen for:
Elbow Instability
22-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Ferran communicates very well and gives the client a straight forward assessment of their injury on an individual level. We are all different and our bodies heal at their own pace. Dr Ferran listens and offers advice accordingly.

13-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Efficient, friendly and speedy service from both Mr Ferran and his admin team. Extremely good level of information and choice of treatment venue. Very good “bedside manner” and speedy action re both medical and admin request. All in all an excellent service!

Patient seen for:
calcific tendonitis
10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had an online video appointment with Mr Ferran on Monday evening 06/07/2020. It was 2nd appointment with him and although it was online instead of in person like the last time I found him to be just as professional as the previous appointment. Mr Ferran is very thorough in his assessment and in recommending follow up scans ASAP before he makes his final decision. I found him to be very polite and professional. I would highly recommend Mr Ferran to anyone I would speak to that would require his expertise. Regards. Mrs Maureen Osayi

09-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very informative and professional. Very thorough with his work

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Pain
24-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was impressed with the video meeting. Using Teams to share screens and explain an MRI scan was very useful. Mr Ferran took me through the scan, explained his recommended course of action and I had lots of time to ask questions and discuss options. Given the time saved travelling to/from a clinic, this is a far better and easier option.

Patient seen for:
Elbow Fractures
MRI Scan (Magnetic Resonance Imaging scan)
16-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really helpful and went further than expected to ensure I had my issue sorted.

16-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Ferran was very attentive to my explanation of the problem. He took time to examine me and to go through the radiologist notes and my MRI file, then gave me a feedback (and prepared a thorough and clear summary for my GP with an action plan) that makes sense. I was struggling for 6 months between over-the-phone physio and GP with no results, worrying over my condition (having internet as the only source of information) while potentially putting myself at risk waiting for the right referral the right diagnosis and treatment.I regret now not having met Dr. Ferran immediately after the injury. Highly recommended!

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Pain
15-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Clear knowledgeable and friendly. V reassuring

15-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Amazing contact with patient, good communication

Patient seen for:
left hand injury
10-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Quick, efficient appointment and treatment. All of my questions were answered.

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
03-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Nick Ferran is very well qualified, accurate, fast, clear and professional at all times. Highest standard of his service and his team.

03-06-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

Explained results and next steps clearly, examination was quite thorough. However I wasn't too well versed in some of the aspects of diagnosis and as such failed to fully appreciate what was being said and the benefit of the proposed treatment plan; which clouded my judgement slightly and had to do some further research on my way home. When I did, I understood a little more and then re-contacted to sort the relevant bits out so may have been beneficial at the time to have explored the comprehension of what was being said; however in a limited appointment time I recognise its difficult to fully cover things. Overall I am happy with everything so far and would recommend if needing a shoulder specialist

Patient seen for:
Shoulder pain
03-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Did a great job via Zoom. Optimistic about the process.

29-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Nick described my shoulder injury very clearly in terms I was able to easily understand. He also explained the recommended surgery, required physio, plus associated risks so my questions were answered sensitively but clearly.

Patient seen for:
Rotator Cuff Repair
23-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Everything I expected, very clear, easy to communicate and very grateful - thank you

15-04-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

quick but efficient advice

Patient seen for:
Tennis Elbow
10-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Ferran took the time to talk to me about the medical tests and reports and even show what he was talking about on my MRIs and with diagrams. He explained the procedure and recovery process in good detail and answered any questions I had which helped me to feel prepared for and comfortable with surgery.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Labral Tear
09-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Nick is highly experienced and extremely qualified. I felt in good hands at all times and experienced only the very highest of service from him and the team.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Arthroscopy
09-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I suffered with Distal Clavicle Osteolysis for over 7 months before I saw Nick (i never knew i had it). Within a few minutes of the first consultation with Nick, he told me that I had DCO and gave his professional advice on it but also referred me to do a scan. He showed scanned results and explained them thoroughly and answered all questions/concerns I had. I completely trusted Nick and his vast knowledge on the injury was incredible. After only four sessions, I am now back in the gym. I cannot thank him enough for his support and genuine care. The whole process was seamless and easy, from booking my appointments to getting referred - would highly recommend.

Patient seen for:
Clavicle Fractures
09-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very easy and straight forward appointment. Managed to setup and carry out the procedure during the first examination.

06-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Clear and positive non-surgical recommendations

Patient seen for:
Arthritis (Shoulder)
05-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Nick was fantastic from the initial consultation all the way up to my 6 week post-operative care appointment. I could not recommend a specialist consultant more. Now deep into my recover period, the outcome of surgery is looking better than the original prognosis and this is thanks to the great job Nick performed.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder & Elbow Surgery
05-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

In short, I don't think I could have hopped for a better service from Mr Ferran and his team. Truly professionals with a first class service from the first consultation throughout the surgery and discharging. He has been open and transparent from the outset, while during the surgery the team constantly looked after me kept me informed on what was happening and most important, I did not feel any pain whatsoever so if I could give the team 10 stars out of 5 I would. Also, a massive thank you to the Anaesthetist and everyone involved for the pain-free experience, a top class performance so thank you Mr Ferran and to your team for the excellent service provided.

Patient seen for:
Rotator Cuff Repair
03-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Mr Ferrans to be very knowledgeable and very helpful explaining our plan to try to resolve my issue.

Patient seen for:
Tennis Elbow
27-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great experience. Thorough examination of my condition, appropriate advice and required tests. Doctor listened well and answered all my questions.

Patient seen for:
Cubital Tunnel Syndrome
26-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Good experience

26-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Ferran has been incredibly efficient, informative and friendly. I have really appreciated his clarity on my condition, the treatment required and my rehabilitation. I have no hesitation in recommending him.

Patient seen for:
complicated (metal plate already in situ) re-broken clavicle
25-02-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
2
Bedside Manner
3

Dr. Ferran was very clear in his plan with me and hiss explanation of what he is proposing to do.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Pain
24-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Clear, informative, professional.

21-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

very good.

20-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Doctor Ferran was able to see me promptly and reassured me with his diagnosis.

Patient seen for:
Shoulder Pain
20-02-2020