Mr Andrew Goldberg

Mr Andrew Goldberg

MD MBBS FRCS FRCSI FRCS(Tr&Orth)

Orthopaedic Surgery

Recommended by  
11 specialists

25 years of experience
12 years as a specialist
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.98
Bedside Manner
4.98
Explanation
5

Top feedback

“Very helpful, thank you very much.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very helpful, thank you very much.

Patient seen for:
Ankle Joint Fusion
24-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Due to an injury, I had a very painful and unstable arthritic ankle joint severely affecting my quality of life for over a year and a half. I was increasingly feeling frustrated and desperately wanted to regain my mobility in my usually very busy day to day life. Although I had previously seen both NHS and private orthopaedic specialists, the opinions I was receiving about my painful, swollen ankle were conflicting and nobody was offering me a medical path that felt right for me. Out of desperation, I spent a whole evening studying the National Joint Registry, looking up every UK foot and ankle consultant within 100 miles of my home, until I came across Mr Andrew Goldberg’s profile. I immediately made an appointment to see him. Due to lockdown, my husband and I had a video consultation with him, but he made me and my husband feel at ease. He reviewed my scans and told me exactly what was wrong with my ankle. I finally understood why I had been in so much pain and what my options were to solve the medical problem. Mr Goldberg inspired confidence in me, was very clear with his opinions and I didn’t feel rushed. When restrictions were lifted, I met Mr Goldberg at the Platinum Centre and he guided me step-by-step through the process of diagnosis and my choice of treatments. Two weeks ago, Mr Goldberg carried out my right ankle replacement and ligament reconstruction at the Wellington South, where Mr Goldberg and his team of expert nurses and medical practitioners looked after me. Everyone was very attentive and helpful. For my aftercare, my husband now drives me to The Wellington at Elstree because it’s closer to home where Mr Goldberg and his team also offer excellent aftercare. It is still early days for me, but I am so grateful to Mr Goldberg and his team. It is a pleasure to have met him. I just wish I had gone to him first!

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you for your kind words. We will be there with you every step of your journey!

Patient seen for:
Ligament reconstruction
Ankle replacement
Arthritis (Ankle)
19-11-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am very grateful to Dr Goldberg. I saw two doctors in the US and two others in London and was receiving conflicting opinions. My osteopath recommended I see Dr Goldberg who was the clearest of all the opinions. He reviewed my scans and told me exactly what was wrong and showed me the pictures and made it so clear that I fully understood why my ankle is so painful. I had my surgery 2 months ago and I am for the first time in a year back in the gym and am so grateful for Dr Goldberg and his brilliant team. I wish I had gone to him first!

Patient seen for:
Ankle Sprain
Foot & Ankle Surgery
11-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I broke both my feet jumping off a wall in December 2019. I went to the NHS hospital and was told I needed surgery on both feet as they were really badly damaged. My heel bones were fractured and I was told I would never run again. I was devastated, so I went to see Mr Goldberg for a second opinion at the recommendation of my physiotherapist in Chelsea. Mr Goldberg looked at my scans and said they did not show the breaks properly. He asked for them to be redone and he made loads of phone calls on my behalf to sort this. He rang me that night and said that the left side did not need surgery. He still operated on the right side and I was in hospital for 3 days. I dont remember being in pain at all after the surgery, and his team are so lovely and so approachable. I went back for a check up last week and was so delighted when he said I could start training again. The left ankle is perfect but the right ankle is still a bit stiff and I am having physiotherapy but is getting better all the time. I jogged 2k yesterday and it was uplifting to know that my surgeon and physiotherapist are both behind me and supporting me through this ordeal.

Patient seen for:
Orthopaedic Surgery
Ankle Fractures
Heel Pain
Foot Fractures
Trauma Surgery
23-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had surgery on my ankle a two weeks ago by Mr Goldberg and had no pain, virtually no swelling and am so pleased I did because my recovery is like chalk and cheese from other surgeries. This was a redo of surgery done last year by another surgeon which didn’t work. After the first surgery I had swelling and bruising and was in agony for more than 10 days and had to go back to the hospital twice. I don’t know what magic dr Goldberg did but I am so so pleased I chose to go and see him.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you for your very kind comments

Patient seen for:
Orthopaedic Surgery
Foot & Ankle Surgery
20-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

An exceptional doctor who goes the extra mile. I had a torrid time with my ankle and after lots of injuries thought I was going to be disabled. Not only did Mr Goldberg pick up things several other specialists missed but he had a new technique which solved my problem and whenever I had a query I would get his personal touch. His team and the ward staff are so nice I could not recommend everyone more.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you for your welcome comments Mr Goldberg's Practice Team

Patient seen for:
Arthritis (Ankle)
25-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He is so caring and friendly. He communicates very well and has really looked after us well. He has looked after my husband and me and we are both so lucky to have him as our consultant. I tried to see him for our routine follow up but the hospital is closed because of the virus problem so we will wait a few months before coming back.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you for your lovely review. Sincere apologies for the interruption of service during Covid-19 lockdown. Delighted to report that with all social distancing and cleaning measures in place we are now re-open in what is becoming the new normal.

Patient seen for:
Foot Pain
24-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Exceptional service despite the circumstances around Covid lockdown. Thank you

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you for the kind feedbck.

Patient seen for:
Fracture
22-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Goldberg is amazing. We had to do a video call because of the lockdown but he was worried my daughter had broken her ankle of the climbing frame. Despite the difficult circumstances Dr Goldberg offered to drive to our house to fit her with a special boot, which he did and we will get an X-ray next week. I cannot thank him enough for going out of his way for us. Above and beyond. As we had private insurance we are really glad we could use it to avoid burdening the scarce NHS resource.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Hope you are all safe during the Covid-19 pandemic - see you soon.

Patient seen for:
Video Consultation
Ankle Sprain
Foot and Ankle Surgery
11-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I would strongly recommend Dr Goldberg for being there in my hour of need and always being accessible

Patient seen for:
Bunion (Hallux Valgus) Correction
06-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very useful remote consultation and thank you for the information you send me. Thank you.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you for your welcome comments. Much appreciated Mr Goldberg's Practice Team

Patient seen for:
Bunions (Hallux Valgus)
01-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a video consultation with Mr Goldberg because I am self-isolating in the COVID-19 epidemic. He was so helpful and reassuring and I didn’t mind doing it by internet. He has given me helpful advice and I will go and see him in a few weeks if the swelling has not settled. Thank you for being so caring.

Patient seen for:
Ankle Sprain
01-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Such a lovely doctor - courteous and very knowledgeable

Patient seen for:
Ankle Sprain
20-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great Dr. Listened to my concerns and gave me a fantastic response. I now know what my issues are, my options and have a plan of action. Would definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you for your kind feedback

24-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have had superb care from Andrew Goldberg

11-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Goldberg treat me since my first appointment with a lot of respect and willing to get my pain sorted out. The whole process: exams, surgery, after surgery went very well. The whole staff is amazing and the nurses are lovely and always remember my face. Best experience ever for me. I'm very excited to get better soon with the help from the staff.

10-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent care and attention at all times. Delighted with my treatment.

04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Always courteous, always professional. I have full trust in him.

03-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a revision ankle replacement by Andy Goldberg and have got my life back. The first ankle replacement was done by a surgeon at my local hospital but was never right. I had pain from the day I was out of my plaster. I saw two other specialists who said there was nothing they could do before my osteopath recommended I see Mr Goldberg. From the moment I met him I knew I should have seen him in the first place. He confirmed it wasn’t right but was honest about my options, which called on more surgery. He sent me information to read and allowed me to speak to another patient to put my mind at ease. I’ve had 7 operations on my ankle now all together so recovery was never going to be easy. I’m now two years down the line and I sail, I hike, I play tennis. In fact I feel like I have a normal ankle. Andy Goldberg is the best ankle surgeon in the UK for me.

Patient seen for:
Ankle replacement
Foot & Ankle Surgery
01-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Extremely professional, quick, friendly, efficient service. Great experience. Thank you. Highly recommended

29-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I highly recommend Mr Goldberg as he's very professional in his approach.

21-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Andy is very personable, he builds confidence in his patients and provides excellent care. You never feel rushed and it's a pleasure to have met him.

16-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Goldberg is an outstanding consultant who has completely changed my life for the better and I’m only 3 months post op from my TAR. His kindness and patience with all my concerns has made me feel so confident in his care. His exceptional knowledge that he shares with me at every appointment, answering so many of my questions with ease and absolute confidence gave me the push I needed to have an operation I have dreaded for many years. I am so thankful to have Mr Goldberg as my consultant and hope that anyone out there with ankle problems gets an opportunity to see him and have the same success in the start of this journey as I feel I have.

Patient seen for:
Ankle replacement
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He explained what has happened to me in a way I can now clearly understand, using models, pictures and scans. Previous doctors did not do this and I was never sure what was wrong with me. His guidance has helped me get the right treatment and it did not involve more surgery as was recommended elsewhere.

Patient seen for:
Cartilage Injury
Foot & Ankle Surgery
02-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had great support from Mr Goldberg and his team. Very clear and quick on strategy (which I liked).

Patient seen for:
Foot & Ankle Surgery
Arthritis (Ankle)
27-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent foot specialist and marvellous with children.

Patient seen for:
Ankle Sprain
21-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very thorough, fast answers, lovely team.

Patient seen for:
Foot & Ankle Surgery
31-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was referred to Mr Goldberg by a friend who I am sure was very demanding. If she recommended him, I knew I was with the best person. It was a pleasure being treated by Mr. Goldberg from the first minute. Personable, pragmatic, explained everything very clearly and I obeyed all his instructions. I am US citizen and wished I could get such timely and accessible care there. All of the support help was equally as impressive from the receptionist. Radiology, the admin help, nurses, all of it!

27-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I could nothave expected or got more.

16-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My son has flat feet. We saw two GP's and a podiatrist and everyone just said there is nothing that can be done. I wish we had seen Mr Goldberg sooner. At last we understand the issues and now we have a plan that we have confidence in.

Patient seen for:
Flat Feet
Back Pain
15-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Fast diagnosis, and same day treatment! Last time I sprained my ankle I was sent away for a scan to return a week later. Dr Goldberg saw me and arranged an MRI there and then and saw me back and told me I had also pulled off a piece of bone. I was out within 2 hours with a boot and a full plan. Wish all doctors could work like this.

Patient seen for:
Ankle Sprain
Ankle Fractures
11-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I cannot fault the care I have received from Mr Goldberg. During the past twelve months, he has made me feel at ease each time I have met with him. He has answered my email queries promptly even when he has been on holiday or at a meeting abroad. I consider him almost a friend such is friendliness and professionalism even though there are many years between us. I cannot thank him enough for the new lease of life he has given me. I was always an athletic man who participated in every sport and almost overnight I was unable to carry out any of these activities. I now can walk 18 holes of golf without any discomfort at all although I am disappointed that my technique has not improved! Thank you, Mr Goldberg.

Patient seen for:
Severe arthritas of the ankle
06-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great and understanding !

Patient seen for:
broken toe
05-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been under the care of Mr Goldberg for the past two years and underwent Achilles revision surgery fourteen months ago. After two previous operations with disappointing results, I was determined to find the best foot and ankle surgeon I could, and I am pleased to say the best I found! Unfortunately, non surgical treatments proved insufficient to ease my condition, but Mr Goldberg exhausted all options before considering surgical intervention. In addition to his surgical expertise and patience to explain everything in detail, what I admire most about Mr Goldberg is his continued aftercare and genuine interest in my recovery. I was determined to return to running and sport and enjoy my passion to the full. With Mr Goldberg’s help, what once seemed like a dream is now turning into a reality!

Patient seen for:
Achilles tendon problems
28-06-2019
Overall
4
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Very good at explaining the options and responding to my particular needs. A true consultant who tries to include the patient in the decision making.

Patient seen for:
Achilles tendon problems
19-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Goldberg is an excellent surgeon. He has performed an ankle replacement on one ankle and an ankle fusion on the other ankle. I have regained my mobility and am hugely indebted to him and his excellent team. He is definitely the best ankle surgeon in the UK.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you so much for your very considerate and helpful feedback.

Patient seen for:
Arthritis (Ankle)
Ankle replacement
17-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A very friendly and caring doctor who is top of his game, what more can you ask for.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you for your feedback.

17-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

An extremely skillful and committed surgeon who engenders confidence that one is receiving the best and latest treatment. Also caring and considerate and keen to retain responsibility for longer term outcome.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you so much for your very considerate and helpful feedback.

07-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

MR GOLDBERG IS A BRILLIANT CONSULTANT WHO HAS HELPED ME ENORMOUSLY. THE TREATMENTS I HAVE RECEUVED FROM THE WELLINGTON AND THE HCA CLINIC HAVE BEEN BRILLIANT . I WOULD LIKE TI THANK ALL THE STAFF THAT HAVE HELPED ME OVER THE LAST SIX MONTH. A SPECIAL THANK YOU GOES OUT TO MR GOLDBERG WHO CORRECTED MY ANKLE AFTER A PREVIOUS CONSULTANTS BOTCHED WORK LEFT ME IN PAIN FOR FOUR YFARS ALLOWING ME TO WALK AGAIN PAIN FREE. HE IS A BRILLIANT PERSON AND MY ONE REGRET WAS NOT SEEING HIM IN THE FIRST PLACE.

04-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

In 2018, having developed arthritis in my right ankle and suddenly finding I could hardly walk, I made an appointment to see Mr Goldberg whose name as a leading expert on ankle surgery I had found on the internet. After a careful and thorough examination he ordered a scan which showed that I had end-stage arthritis in my ankle and that I had also ruptured the posterior tibial tendon which was why I was unable to walk.He said I would need an operation and that the ankle could either be fused or I could have a replacement joint and the tendon could be repaired or replaced. He also said that if I decided to have the joint replacement I would need two operations but that the fusion and tendon could be performed as one. He explained everything very clearly, he was very attentive and I knew immediately that I was going to be in the best possible hands. He arranged for me to be fitted with an orthopaedic boot and to come back and see him when we had had time to think about the options. Being so well-informed, it wasn’t difficult to make a decision. When I talked it over again with Mr Goldberg, he was very supportive and agreed it was the right one. He said I would be surprised at the amount of movement I would have with a fusion and now, just over a year since the operation I am absolutely delighted with the result. The operation itself was completely painless afterwards and although I was sent home with a supply of pain killers, I didn’t have to take any of them. He had performed some kind of miracle with the tendon and the fusion, I can walk normally on that foot now and there is hardly any sign of a scar. During the long recovery period he looked after me wonderfully and I always looked forward to my appointments with him. When chatting with his grateful patients in the waiting room, we all agreed he was an outstanding surgeon and we were extremely lucky to be under his care.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you so much for your very considerate and helpful feedback.

Patient seen for:
Arthritis (Ankle)
Foot & Ankle Surgery
Ankle replacement
02-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I ruptured my Achilles‘ tendon and sprained my ankle and went to see a specialist whose name I won’t mention and he put me in a plaster but I wanted a second opinion and found Dr Goldberg who I had read is one of the best doctors for Achilles problems. He was much more thorough and scanned my tendon to show one end of the tendon was stuck and not moving and he did surgery the next day and after 6 weeks had me back in the gym. I’m now 4 months from the injury and almost fully recovered with the neatest tiny scar. My physiotherapist said that is one of the quickest recoveries she has seen. I’m so glad I found Dr Goldberg. I felt extremely well looked after and I don’t think I could have anywhere near the result if I had not taken the second opinion. I thoroughly recommend him.

Mr Andrew Goldberg

Thank you so much for your very considerate and helpful feedback.

Patient seen for:
Achilles tendon problems
Ankle sprain
Foot & Ankle Surgery
19-05-2019